Terms of References for ITMCTR
Terms of Reference of the ITMCTR Advisory Group

What is the ITMCTR?

The International Traditional Medicine Clinical Trial Registry (ITMCTR) is a non-profit online register of clinicaltrials (researches) being conducted in the field of traditional medicine. It isoperated by the China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences and The China CenterFor Evidence Based Traditional Chinese Medicine. It is recognized as a PrimaryRegistry of WHO, and contributes data to the WHO ICTRP. 

What trials are accepted in the ITMCTR?

Trials accepted for registration arethose conducted in the field of traditional medicine from any country includingChinese medicine, acupuncture, herbal medicine, ayurvida, homeopathy, yonani,complementary and supplementary medicines. 

Key points about the ITMCTR 

  • The ITMCTR is a non-profit organization, and the registration of clinical trials (researches) is free. 
  • The information about registered clinical trials (researches) is publicly available, and is allowed to be searched as to certain topics. 
  • Registration is voluntary, but certain fields are mandatory when finishing the registration form. 
  • The Sponsor of the clinical trials (researches) should ensure the authenticity of the submitted information, and takes responsibility for the initiation, management and financing of a clinical trial (research). The sponsor may be an individual, or a pharmaceutical company, academic institution, governmental agency, or other organization. 


    ITMCTR Advisory Group


Dr. ZHANG Qi (Group leader), Former Head, Unit of Traditional, Complementary and Integrative Medicine, Department of Integrated Health Services, World Health Organization, Switzerland

Prof. Rudolf BAUER, Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Department of Pharmacognosy, University of Graz, Universit?tsplatz 4/I, 8010 Graz, Austria.

Prof. BIAN Zhaoxiang, Director of Clinical Division, School of Chinese Medicine, Associate Vice-President (Chinese Medicine Development) of Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong, China

Dr. CAO Bin, Vice President and Director, Department of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, China-Japan Friendship Hospital, China

Prof. Elaine ELISABETSKY, Professor, Institute of Health Basic Sciences, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, WHO EAP member, Brazil

Dr. GOH Cheng Soon, Director of WHO Collaborating Centre for Traditional Medicine in Malaysia, Traditional and Complementary Medicine Division, Ministry of Health, Malaysia

Prof. GUO De-an, Chair Professor and Director, Shanghai Research Centre for TCM Modernization, State Engineering Laboratory for TCM Standardization Technology, China

Prof. HUANG Luqi, President, China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences, Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering, China

Prof. Michiho ITO, Head, Division of Pharmacognosy, Phytochemistry and Narcotics, National Institute of Health Sciences, Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, Japan

Prof. Ji-Soo KIM, Professor, Department of Neurology, College of Medicine, Seoul National University, Director of Dizziness Center, Clinical Neuroscience Center, Seoul National University Bundang Hospital, Korea

Prof. KO Wingman, non-official member of the Executive Council of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China

Prof. LIU Fang, Director, Clinical Research Management Department, West China Hospital, Sichuan University, China

Dr. Sven SCHR?DER, HanseMerkur Center for TCM at the University Medical Center Hamburg Eppendorf, Germany

Prof. Muhammad Raza SHAH, International Center for Chemical and Biological Sciences, H.E.J. Research Institute of Chemistry University of Karachi, Pakistan

Prof. SHANG Hongcai, Researcher and Executive Vice-President, Dongzhimen Hospital of Beijing University of Chinese Medicine, China

Prof. WANG Yanping, Institute of Basic Research in Clinical Medicine, China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences, China

Note: The list is in alphabetical order by last name.

ITMCTR BJ-ICP:07032215-5 Tip: IE8 is recommended Use the system with widescreen display resolution above